Skip to content

People

The Float Group at WHOI is made up of a variety of scientists and engineers. Meet our talented team:

 

Principal Investigators:

Steven Jayne

Dr. Steven Jayne

Senior Scientist

Dr. Jayne’s research interests include understanding and modeling the ocean’s dynamics and its role in the Earth’s climate; collecting and synthesizing the diverse set of global ocean observations to map and understand the ocean’s general circulation; studying the special role of western boundary currents in the general circulation and eddy-mean flow interactions within them; investigating air-sea interaction in tropical cyclones; and improving physical parameterizations in ocean circulation models.

Contact: sjayne@whoi.edu

WHOI profile: Steven Jayne

owens_breck_65763jpg

Dr. Breck Owens

Emeritus Research Scholar

Dr. Owens is the Director of the international Argo program. His research focuses on the description of the general circulation and eddy variability in the world’s oceans; sea ice, ocean- atmosphere coupling dynamics; development of float technology and autonomous vehicles for ocean monitoring.

Contact: bowens@whoi.edu

WHOI profile: Breck Owens

probbins

Dr. Pelle Robbins

Research Specialist

Dr. Robbins has been coordinating the operations of the WHOI Argo effort for many years, as well as overseeing the quality control of the project's data stream. She has a background in large-scale ocean and biogeochemical processes.

Contact: probbins@whoi.edu

WHOI profile: Pelle Robbins

Screen Shot 2018-09-12 at 9.46.23 AM

Dr. Susan Wijffels

Senior Scientist

Susan aims to quantify and understand the role of the ocean in climate, key aspects of the large-scale ocean circulation and global ocean change. She also is recognised for her contributions to the design, implementation and exploitation of the Global Ocean Observing System (GOOS). Susan received a B.Sc. Hons (First Class) from the Flinders University of South Australia, in 1986, and a PhD in 1993 from the MIT/WHOI Joint Program in Oceanography and Oceanographic Engineering. She was with the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) Marine Laboratory in Australia from 1994, becoming a principle senior researcher, before joining WHOI in July 2017.

Susan’s work at WHOI focuses on her long term interests in the variability of the Indonesian Throughflow and its role in climate, the global Argo project and the evolution of its design (she is co-chair of the International Argo Steering Team), quantifying global ocean change over the past 50 years, including the anatomy and drivers of ocean warming, how changes in the earth’s hydrological cycle are expressed in large scale changes to the ocean salinity field and if and how climate models exhibit these behaviours.

Contact: swijffels@whoi.edu

WHOI profile: Susan Wijffels

Other scientists and engineers:

JesseAnderson

Dr. Jesse Anderson

Postdoctoral Investigator

Dr. Anderson's research interests include mixed layer dynamics, air-sea interactions, and the use of autonomous platforms for ocean observation.

Contact: janderson@whoi.edu

WHOI profile: Jesse Anderson

randerson

Ryan Anderson

Research Associate

Ryan prepares biogeochemical Argo floats for deployment and monitors the fleet. He develops protocols for testing the instrument’s sensors, designs check out procedures, and trains technicians on how to deploy the instruments. He also designed and implemented our internal database system for handling metadata and data reported by the floats. The database feeds an interactive website which is used to diagnoses issues with the instruments, inspect the data, and track the fleet of instruments.

Contact: randerson@whoi.edu

WHOI profile: Ryan Anderson

Frank Bahr

Frank Bahr

Research Specialist

Interests include working with various instrumentation from preparation through support at sea, data recovery and processing. Sensors include ADCPs (both moored and shipboard) and various flavors of CTDs such as on towed vehicles like the Scanfish, or on moored crawlers such as the Ice Tethered Profilers and similar.

Contact: fbahr@whoi.edu

WHOI profile: Frank Bahr

Bill Dullea

Bill Dullea

Engineer II

 

Contact: wdullea@whoi.edu

WHOI profile: Bill Dullea

Alex Ekholm

Alex Ekholm

Engineer II

 

Contact: aekholm@whoi.edu

WHOI profile: Alex Akholm

Larry George1

Larry George

Engineer II

 

Contact: lgeorge@whoi.edu

WHOI profile: Larry George

bgreenwood

Benjamin Greenwood

Engineer II

Benjamin Greenwood is an Engineer at Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. Ben assists the Float Group by maintaining software which retrieves telemetered Argo messages, decodes the compressed binary messages, and distributes the raw data to DACs and other collaborators in real-time. His research projects include remote sensor telemetry, embedded systems, and dynamic website design.

Contact: bgreenwood@whoi.edu

WHOI profile: Benjamin Greenwood

CHheadshot

Cora Hersh

MIT/WHOI Joint Program Graduate Student

After earning her B.S. in physics at Haverford College, Cora completed a post-baccalaureate science communications fellowship at the National Institutes of Health. She worked with the Float Group as a research assistant for a year, supporting communications activities, developing Argo data visualizations, and evaluating the quality of the Argo dataset. Now a student in the MIT/WHOI Joint Program, she is advised by both Dr. Susan Wijffels and Dr. Jake Gebbie.

Contact: chersh@whoi.edu

WHOI profile: Cora Hersh

Headshot_389675

Jessica Kozik

Research Assistant III

 

Contact: jkozik@whoi.edu

WHOI profile: Jessica Kozik

west-mack_deborah

Deb West-Mack

Research Associate II

Processing and quality control of Argo float data.  Automation of hydrographic data processing and data visualization.

Contact: dwest@whoi.edu

WHOI profile: Deb West-Mack

Sachiko_Yoshida_384335 (1)

Dr. Sachiko Yoshida

Research Specialist

 

Contact: syoshida@whoi.edu

WHOI profile: Sachiko Yoshida

Aidan Thayer
Engineer I, WHOI

Aidan Thayer

Engineer I

 

Contact: aidan.thayer@whoi.edu

WHOI profile: Aidan Thayer