Skip to content

Meet the Team

Meet the Team

Our lab is made up of scientists, engineers, technicians, students, and staff who work together to solve some of the industry's most exciting problems related to Autonomous Underwater Vehicles (AUVs), acoustic communications, animal tags, oil spills, and much more.

image

Amy Kukulya

Scibotics Core Team Member

Research Engineer, Principal Investigator

Amy specializes in development of underwater vehicles, sensors and oceanographic systems for the advancement of scientific applications. Her group possesses skills in mechanical and systems engineering, field operations and management of complex field programs. She is also a professional outreach communicator and speaker.

Contact: akukulya@whoi.edu

Personal Site

 

Noa Yoder chainsawing her way though the ice

Noa Yoder

Scibotics Core Team Member

Engineer II

Noa is an integral part of the Scibotics team, whose studies at the forefront of ocean engineering and understanding of science-driven applications contribute to our AUV development, troubleshooting and field operations. Her skills as a communicator through writing and speaking enhance our team's collaboration and productivity.

Contact: nyoder@whoi.edu 

IMG_5745

Amanda Besaw

Scibotics Core Team Member

Administrative Associate I

Amanda specializes in proposal preparation and contract/grant administration. She works closely with administrative, scientific and technical staff to meet project goals and deliverables. She is knowledgeable about adhering to policies, guidelines and practices for the funding of research.

Contact: abesaw@whoi.edu

 

 

conmy-1

Robyn Conmy, Ph.D.

Scibotics Core Team Member

Guest Investigator

Science Advisor

Dr. Conmy is a leader in oil spill response research and her expertise includes ocean optics, submersible optical detection of petroleum hydrocarbons, radiochemistry, organic carbon cycling in marine, riverine and groundwater environments.

Contact: rconmy@whoi.edu

Kara_Lav

Kara Lavender Law, Ph.D.

Scibotics Core Team Member

Guest Investigator

Science Advisor

Trained in physical oceanography, Dr. Law’s current research interests focus on the sources of plastic to the marine environment, understanding how ocean physics determines the distribution of plastic and other marine debris, and the degradation and ultimate fate of different plastic materials in the ocean. 

Contact: klavender@whoi.edu

 

Kara Dodge

Kara Dodge, Ph.D.

Scibotics Core Team Member

Guest Investigator

Science Advisor

As a research scientist, Dr. Dodge uses a variety of innovative tools and techniques, including satellite and acoustic telemetry, AUVs, videography, oceanographic sampling, and stable isotope analysis, to investigate the behavior and ecology of threatened and endangered sea turtles in the North Atlantic.

Contact: kdodge@neaq.org

 

boglake (8 of 17)

Daniel Gomez-Ibanez

Research Engineer

Electrical & Mechanical Support

Contact: dgi@whoi.edu

 

IMG_1910

Ryan Govostes

Research Engineer

Software Support

Ryan is a software engineer in the Application Development group supporting Scibotics research and development projects. After a decade in information security research, Ryan joined WHOI to delve deeper into artificial intelligence and embedded software design.

Contact: rgovostes@whoi.edu

Adarsh

Adarsh Salagame

Northeastern Co-op

Software Support

Contact: adarsh.salagame@whoi.edu

scientist_icon

Nathan Un

Engineering Assistant II

AUV Embedded Software Engineer Intern

Contact: nathan.un@whoi.edu

maaya

Maaya Prasad

Engineering Assistant II

Engineering Support

Contact: suparnamaaya.prasad@whoi.edu

Former Members

Liam Cross

Engineering Assistant II, 2019-2021

Contact: lcross@whoi.edu

Avery Munoz

Wentworth Co-op, 2019-2020

Contact: amunoz@whoi.edu

 

cecelia kane

Laboratory Assistant II, 2017-2020

Contact: ckane@whoi.edu

 

Karla Haiat Sasson

Guest Student, Summer 2019

Contact: khaiatsasson@whoi.edu