Skip to content

About us

The Mooring Operations and Engineering (MOE) group offers services that include design of mooring systems and components, new prototypes and technologies, and planning and implementation of at-sea operations.

The MOE facility includes a high bay with a 10-ton bridge crane and test well for equipment assembly, testing, and cruise staging; a urethane encapsulation lab for assembly of specialized mooring cables, terminations, and components; as well as other equipment and spaces to enable to support mooring design and deployment.

In addition to extensive ship-based experience, the group has spent more than 20 field seasons in polar regions conducting mooring operations from ice camps and icebreakers. On average, the group supports and directs more than 35 at-sea operations annually worldwide.

Contact

To contact the Mooring Operations and Engineering staff, send an email to mooringops@whoi.edu or contact one of us directly below.

People

John Kemp

John Kemp
Group Operations Leader
Office Phone: +1 508 289 2241
jkemp@whoi.edu

Jim Ryder

Jim Ryder
Senior Engineering Assistant III
Office Phone: +1 508 289 3634
jryder@whoi.edu

Jim Dunn

Jim Dunn
Senior Engineering Assistant II
Office Phone: +1 508 289 2999
jdunn@whoi.edu

Jeff Pietro

Jeff Pietro
Senior Engineering Assistant II
Office Phone: +1 508 289 3883
jpietro@whoi.edu

Meg Donohue

Meg Donohue
Senior Engineering Assistant I
Office Phone: +1 508 289 3288
mdonohue@whoi.edu

Chris Basque

Chris Basque
Senior Engineering Assistant I
Office Phone: +1 508 289 2419
cbasque@whoi.edu

Nico Llanos

Nico Llanos
Engineering Assistant III
Office Phone: +1 508 289 3484
nllanos@whoi.edu

Chris Lumping

Chris Lumping
Engineer II
Office Phone: +1 508 289 2236
clumping@whoi.edu
CV