Skip to content

Dr. Britt Raubenheimer

Senior Scientist
Applied Ocean Physics & Engineering Department

Contact Information:
Work: 508-289-3614
Cell 208-255-8879
Bigelow 206

Mailing Address:
266 Woods Hole Road, MS #11
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Woods Hole, MA 02543

Research Interests

Surf and swashzone processes; wave runup; alongshore currents; interaction of swashzone waves with beach water table; sediment transport; morphological evolution.

Undergraduate Fellows

  • Rachel Horwitz, 2003, “Swash velocities at the Nearshore Canyon Experiment” (Dalhousie postdoc)
  • Catie Lichten, 2004, “Wave-driven setup” (McGill PhD graduate)
  • Kristie Loncich, 2004, “Observations of nearshore sediment transport” (BU PhD, high school teacher)
  • Leslie Goemaat, 2005, “Optimization of the Triton boundary function” (lawyer)
  • Levi Gorrell, 2005, “SWAN modeling of nearshore waves” (WHOI Res. Assoc. III)
  • Megan Crocker, 2007, “Sediment transport at Washburn Island” (petroleum geologist)
  • Andy Pickering, 2007, “Models for wave dissipation over mud” (OSU postdoc)
  • Melissa Moulton, 2008, “Cross-shore subtidal circulation over a muddy seafloor” (WHOI PhD student, WHOI conference travel awardee, UW-APL scientist)
  • Erika Ladouceur, 2008, “Nearshore circulation over a muddy seafloor” (ocean instrument consultant)
  • Dana Giffen, 2009, “Winds on the Skagit tidal flats” (environmental consulting)
  • Sean Kilgallin, 2009,  “Velocity structure on the north Skagit flats” (coastal consultant)
  • Seth Zippel, 2009, “Friction coefficients on the Skagit tidal flats” (UW PhD, WHOI postdoc)
  • Regina Yopak, 2009, “Waves on the Skagit tidal flats” (URI PhD student)
  • Kyle List, 2010, “Lidar observations of runup” (coastal consulting, WHOI conference travel awardee)
  • C. Garrity, 2013, “Lateral circulation in Katama Bay"(U. Maine)
  • M. Smith, 2013, “Sediment transport in Katama Bay and inlet” (UW PhD student, WHOI conference travel awardee)
  • M. Munro, 2014, "SPH modeling and verification of the Vertical Structure and Turbulence in the Swash” (MIT, Mech Eng)

Ph.D. Students

  • Alex Apotsos (2002-2007) “Shoreline setup observations and predictions” (recipient AGU Congressional Fellowship 2007, USGS Mendenhall Postdoctoral Fellowship 2008, Fulbright Fellowship/AAAS Policy Fellowship 2011, now Williams College professor)
  • Vera Pavel (2007-2012) “Stratification on the Skagit Bay tidal flats” (now senior software developer)
  • Anna Wargula (2011-2017) "Wave-, wind-, and tide-driven circulation at a well-mixed ocean inlet”(FHL student award 2012, PASI student award 2013, NDSEG Fellow 2013-2016, now USNA assistant professor)
  • Rachel Housego (2015-2021) “Barrier Island Groundwater Dynamics” (now postdoc at Univ. Delaware)
  • Jinshi Chen (2019 - present) "Cross-Surfzone Transport Dynamics Driven by Breaking Waves"
  • Ciara Dooley (2019 - present, co-advisor with Steve Elgar) (NDSEG 2020)

Postdoctoral Researchers

  • Tim Maddux (2002-2004) (OSU Hinsdale Laboratory)
  • Jeff Hansen (2011-2013) (UWA assistant professor)
  • Erika Johnson (2014-2016) (NRL)
  • Drude Christensen (2021-present)
  • Alex Muscalus (2023-present, co-advise with Steve Elgar)
  • Carolina Camargo (2023-present, co-advise with Chris Piecuch)
  • Marie-Pierre Delisle (2023-present, co-advise with Steve Elgar)
  • Reza Salatin (2023-present, co-advise with Steve Elgar)

Navy Students

  • Charles Murman (2022-2024, co-advise with Steve Elgar)
  • Seth Ammons (2022-2024, co-advise with Steve Elgar)
  • Austin Faddish (2022-2024, co-advise with Steve Elgar)
  • Faith Brooks (2022-2024, co-advise with Steve Elgar)



B.A. Middlebury College, Physics, 1987

Ph.D. Scripps Institution of Oceanography, 1996, Oceanography


  • ONR NDSEG Fellowship 1990-1993
  • ONR AASERT Fellowship 1993-1996
  • Mellon Postdoctoral Fellowship 1996-1999
  • ONR Young Investigator Award 2000-2003
  • NSF Career Award 2003-2007
  • WHOI Doherty Chair in Education 2013
  • WHOI Arons Award for Excellence in Teaching, Advising, and Mentoring 2014
  • Co-author, CHL Outstanding Journal Submission 2016
  • ASBPA Bob Dean Coastal Academic Award 2017
  • W. Van Alan Chair Award 2022
  • International Coastal Sediments Award 2023