Scientists

ralston

David Ralston

COFDL Lab Manager/Associate Scientist with Tenure

Research Interests:  Fluid mechanics and scalar transport in estuaries and the coastal ocean.

Contact:  dralston@whoi.edu

edson

James B. Edson

Senior Scientist

Research Interests:  Instrumentation and techniques to compute atmospheric fluxes within the marine boundary layer; systems to correct for motion contamination; modeling the influence of sea-spray on the surface layer energy budget; parameterization of fluxes; influence of waves on near surface flow; momentum and energy exchange across the coupled boundary layers; direct measurements of gas exchange; development of ocean observatories.

Contact:  jedson@whoi.edu

elgar

Steve Elgar

Senior Scientist

Research Interests:  Nearshore processes, ocean waves, nonlinear random processes.

Lab Site:  PV Lab

Contact:  elgar@whoi.edu

geyer_200

Rocky Geyer

Senior Scientist

Research Interests:  Estuary flow and mixing, wind-driven flow, tidal effects.

Contact:  rgeyer@whoi.edu

jiang

Houshuo Jiang

Senior Scientist

Research Interests:  Small-scale biological-physical interactions in plankton.

Contact:  hsjiang@whoi.edu

ledwell4

Jim Ledwell

Emeritus Research Scholar

Research Interests:  Mixing and stirring in the ocean and their roles in ocean circulation and in the distribution of chemical and biological species.

Contact:  jledwell@whoi.edu

mcgillicuddy

Dennis McGillicuddy

Senior Scientist/Department Chair

Research Interests:  Modeling of ocean circulation and productivity.

Contact:  dmcgillicuddy@whoi.edu

raubenheimer

Britt Raubenheimer

Senior Scientist

Research Interests:  Surf and swashzone processes, wave runup, morphological evolution.

Lab Site:  PV Lab

Contact:  braubenheimer@whoi.edu

scully_200

Malcolm Scully

Associate Scientist with Tenure

Research Interests:  Circulation and turbulent mixing in the coastal and estuarine environment, hypoxia in estuaries, boundary layers, Langmuir circulation.

Contact:  mscully@whoi.edu

traykovski2

Peter Traykovski

Associate Scientist with Tenure

Research Interests:  Sediment transport on the continental shelf and in estuaries.

Contact:  ptraykovski@whoi.edu

trowbridge

John Trowbridge

Senior Scientist

Research Interests:  Boundary layers, sediment transport and shelf and nearshore processes.

Contact:  jtrowbridge@whoi.edu

williams

Albert Williams

Scientist Emeritus

Research Interests:  Ocean mixing processes; boundary layer measurements and modeling; sediment/fluid interaction; oceanographic instrumentation.

Contact:  awilliams@whoi.edu

zhang_200

Weifeng Gordon Zhang

Associate Scientist

Research Interests:  Numerical ocean modeling, data assimilation, model-based observing system design.

Contact:  wzhang@whoi.edu