Skip to content

About Us

Developing effective and well-engineered tags requires collaboration amongst members of BIO and AOPE, but also sensor engineering and ocean observation with MCG and PO. This unique hub of diversity in marine experience allows us to work together to minimize tagging impacts on animals, and to make groundbreaking improvements on current tags and associated technology.

Hover over the images below to learn more about each TagLab researcher!

Amy Kukulya

Dept: AOP&E

Creator of Turtlecam and SharkCam Principal Investigator. Senior AUV Operations Engineer

Contact: akukulya@whoi.edu

Personal Site

Aran Mooney

Dept: BIO

Leads the Sensory Ecology and Physiology Lab @ WHOI Mooney Lab

Contact: amooney@whoi.edu

Personal Site

Michael Moore

Dept: BIO

Director of the Marine Mammal Center. Remotely monitors marine mammal health with technology

Contact: mmoore@whoi.edu

Personal Site

Tom Hurst

Dept: AOP&E

Research Engineer in the Advanced Engineering Lab

Contact: thurst@whoi.edu

Mark Baumgartner

Dept: BIO

Utilizes technology, AUVs, passive acoustics and tags to study top predator ecology

Contact: mbaumgartner@whoi.edu

Personal Site

Fred Jaffre

Dept: AOP&E

Creates compact electronic and electro-mechanical designs for AUVs and underwater instrumentation

Contact: fjaffre@whoi.edu

Personal Site

Lee Freitag

Dept: AOP&E

Underwater acoustic signal processing; underwater systems architecture, design and implementation

Contact: lfreitag@whoi.edu

Personal Site

Simon Thorrold

Dept: BIO

Fisheries ecology/oceanography; tracing paths of marine fish; natural isotopic and elemental markers

Contact: sthorrold@whoi.edu

Personal Site

Laela Sayigh

Dept: BIO

Social behavior and communication of whales/dolphins using non-invasive tags

Contact: lsayigh@whoi.edu

Alex Bocconcelli

Dept: AOP&E

Research interests: marine mammal behavior: tagging and impacts of noise; underwater sensor packages

Contact: abocconcelli@whoi.edu

Personal Site

Jim Partan

Dept: AOP&E

Underwater acoustic communication, navigation and networks; marine mammal acoustics and behavioral sensing; AUVs

Contact: jpartan@whoi.edu

Personal Site

Aleck Wang

Dept: MC&G

Chemical oceanography and marine biogeochemistry; coastal carbon and nutrient biogeochemistry

Contact: zawang@whoi.edu

Personal Site

Karla Haiat Sasson

Dept: BIO & AOP&E

WHOI Guest Student

URI Ocean Engineering & Marine Biology Major

Contact: karlahaiat@gmail.com