Skip to content

Emeriti

John Bailey

Oceanographer Emeritus

Contact: jbailey@whoi.edu

Robert Ballard

Emeritus Research Scholar

Contact: rballard@whoi.edu

Albert Bradley

Oceanographer Emeritus

Research Interests: Ocean research instrumentation including acoustics, ocean sensor systems and platforms, and autonomous research vehicles.

Contact: abradley@whoi.edu

Alan Chave

Scientist Emeritus

Research Interests: Development of permanent seafloor observatories; the use of electromagnetic methods to study the structure and evolution of the oceanic and continental lithosphere; the use of electromagnetic measurements to directly measure the barotropic flow; development of new processing and modeling algorithms for electromagnetic data; development of instrumentation to measure electromagnetic fields in the ocean; the use of abandoned submarine cables for long-term seafloor data telemetry and passive measurements of the geoelectric field.

Contact: achave@whoi.edu

Jonathan Howland

Emeritus Research Scholar

Contact: jhowland@whoi.edu

Steven Lerner

Oceanographer Emeritus

Research Interests: Underwater real-time multi-sensor collection, processing, and visualization systems; autonomous vehicles/seafloor observatories; development of multi-disciplinary data access and analysis systems.

Contact: slerner@whoi.edu

Catherine Offinger

Oceanographer Emeritus

Research Interests: Organization and logistics support for un-crewed vehicle teams including Jason, Nereus and Sentry.

Contact: coffinger@whoi.edu

Hanu Singh

Scientist Emeritus

Research Interests: Computer vision; system architecture and algorithms for acoustic and optical imaging; underwater vehicle system architecture for navigation, communications, docking, and power.

Contact: hsingh@whoi.edu