Skip to content

Scientists

camilli2_300

Richard Camilli

Associate Scientist with Tenure, Lab Manager

Contact: rcamilli@whoi.edu

girdhar_300

Yogesh Girdhar

Associate Scientist

Research Interests: Adaptived sampling, marine robotics, computer vision, autonomous robotic exploration, semantic perception, Bayesian nonparametrics, deep learning, surprise detection, data summarization.

Website: http://warp.whoi.edu

Contact: ygirdhar@whoi.edu

 

maksym2_300

Ted Maksym

Associate Scientist

Research Interests: Sea ice and polar climate, autonomous vehicles under ice, sea ice thickness distribution (in situ and satellite), properties and processes, ice-ocean and ice-climate interactions, autonomous monitoring of sea ice processes.

Contact: tmaksym@whoi.edu

 

Anna Michel becomes the new director of the Deep Submergence Lab

Anna Michel

Associate Scientist

Research Interests: Development of in situ sensors for ocean chemistry and atmospheric science.

Contact: amichel@whoi.edu

walker_300

Catherine Walker

Assistant Scientist

Research Interests: Ice-ocean interactions, Antarctic coastal change, ice shelf rifting processes and iceberg calving, ocean worlds science and Earth analogues, Europa (moon of Jupiter) ridge and fracture formation, glacier change in the Americas, remote sensing methods, laser altimetry and topography change, polar oceanography and ecosystem change, planetary surface processes and water-rock interactions.

Contact: cwalker@whoi.edu

yoerger_300_2

Dana Yoerger

Senior Scientist

Research Interests: Robotics, applying principles of automation to remotely operated and autonomous underwater vehicles to add capability and ease of use; localization, navigation, and positioning, autonomous robots for exploration of the seafloor and the ocean's twilight zone.

Contact: dyoerger@whoi.edu