Skip to content

Engineers

bowen2_300

Andrew Bowen

Principal Engineer, Lab Manager

Research Interests: Remotely operated submersibles, propulsion systems, application of close loop control of remotely operated vehicles, introduction of remotely operated systems for oceanographic research.

Contact: abowen@whoi.edu

berkowitz_300

Zac Berkowitz

Research Engineer

Research Interests: Development and operation of software and electrical systems of autonomous vehicles for scientific use.

Contact: zberkowitz@whoi.edu

billings_300_3

Andrew Billings

Research Engineer

Research Interests: Mechanical design, electrical design, CAD and CAM with Autodesk software, Inventor and Fusion, underwater thruster design and hydraulic systems.

Contact: abillings@whoi.edu

WHOI mechanical engineer, Molly Curran poses with autonomous underwater vehicle, Nereid Under Ice (NUI) in the Blake auto bays. Curran has worked with WHOI for more than six years adding crucial elements to vehicles like Nereid, including hydraulic pumps that help the vehicle's manipulator arms move during missions (Daniel Hentz, © Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution)

Molly Curran

Engineer II

Research Interests: Design and operation of autonomous, hybrid, and remotely operated underwater vehicles and mechanical support equipment. Design and construction of underwater hydraulic power systems. Mechanical Finite Element Analysis.

Contact: mcurran@whoi.edu

dalpe_300

Allisa Dalpe

Research Engineer

Research Interests: Autonomous decision making, mission planning, path-planning, test and evaluations methods for autonomous systems.

Contact: adalpe@whoi.edu

denton_300

Frederick Denton

Research Engineer

Research Interests: Mechanical design of oceanographic systems including ROVs and specializing in ROV LARS cranes, winches, umbilical cables and other portable structures mounted to oceanographic vessels.

Contact: fdenton@whoi.edu

fernandez_300_2

Mario Fernandez Jr.

Research Engineer

Research Interests: Mechanical design engineering for ROV Jason.

Contact: mfernandez@whoi.edu

fuji_300

Justin Fujii

Research Engineer

Research Interests: Systems level design of autonomous, manned, and unmanned underwater vehicles. Hydrodynamics and propulsion optimization of underwater vehicles. Improved payload and power plant interchangeability. Design deployment and recovery systems of autonomous underwater vehicles.

Contact: jfujii@whoi.edu

garcia_300

Joe Garcia

Engineer I

Research Interests: Python-based data processing and analysis, Big data system architectures, Linux kernel drivers and systems programming, embedded systems integration, radio-frequency and acoustic communications.

Contact: jogarcia@whoi.edu

heintz_300_2

Matthew Heintz

Senior Engineer

Research Interests: Design, construction, and operation of deep diving research submersibles including ROVs, AUVs, HOVs, and hybrid vehicles.

Contact: mheintz@whoi.edu

jakuba

Michael Jakuba

Senior Engineer

Research Interests: Design and operation of autonomous and remotely operated underwater vehicles, navigation and control, lightweight tether design and tether dynamics, operation in polar environments and under ice, long range marine robotics.

Contact: mjakuba@whoi.edu

joyce_300_2

Timothy Joyce

Engineer II

Research Interests: Computer graphics, ROS Robotic Vehicle Development, C++ Application and Library Design, vehicle navigation.

Contact: tmjoyce@whoi.edu

littlefield_300_2

Robin Littlefield

Research Engineer

Research Interests: Development of new technologies and hardware to improve underwater vehicles and systems.

Contact: rlittlefield@whoi.edu

machado3_300

Casey Machado

Research Engineer

Research Interests: Mechanical and systems engineering of innovative Remotely Operated and Autonomous Underwater Vehicles to enable access to unique environments, full ocean depth and under ice robotics, at sea vehicle operations and logistics. Ocean Worlds exploration. Creating inclusive work environments. Project organization and resource management.

Contact: cmachado@whoi.edu

mccue_300_2

Scott McCue

Information Systems Associate II

Research Interests: Remote sensing using satellite-derived data, software development, underwater instrumentation, underwater acoustics.

Contact: smccue@whoi.edu

naklicki_300_2

Victor Naklicki

Engineer II

Research Interests: Long endurance autonomous vehicles, battery systems, fiber optics, and under ice sampling.

Contact: vnaklicki@whoi.edu

popenoe_300

Hugh Popenoe

Research Engineer

Research Interests: Development, testing and operations of oceanographic vehicles, ROV electrical and fiber optic system architecture, electro-optical and mechanical design.

Contact: hpopenoe@whoi.edu

Matthew Silvia

Research Engineer

Contact: msilvia@whoi.edu

suman_300_2

Stefano Suman

Research Engineer

Research Interests: Development, management and use of cost-effective and user-friendly instrumentation and software.

Contact: ssuman@whoi.edu

sutherland2_300

Amanda Sutherland

Engineer II

Research Interests: Mechanical design and testing of subsea vehicles.

Contact: asutherland@whoi.edu

taylor_300_2

Christopher Taylor

Research Engineer

Research Interests: Undersea vehicle design, electrical systems design.

Contact: cltaylor@whoi.edu

vandor_300_2

Isaac Vandor

Engineer II

Research Interests: Dynamically adjustable autonomy, multi-agent systems, remote sensing and sampling, sensor fusion, asynchronous computing, deep reinforcement learning, underwater communications.

Contact: ivandor@whoi.edu

verhein2_300

Korey Verhein

Engineer II

Research Interests: Remotely Operated Vehicles, deep-sea videography/photography, fiber optic telemetry systems, vehicle control systems software/hardware, video distribution/routing/monitoring/recording, single board computers.

Contact: kverhein@whoi.edu